Will I Miss my College?

I was a newbee in 2004 at my college. Like any other migrant from school to college, I was also looking forward for the college life which is projected exaggeratedly on the sliver screen. But nothing of that sort works out here in Tamil Nadu esp if you land up in a Jeppiar run institution.. And I thank God that I am not in one of those institutions.

 

I realized that they treated us no better than a school student. I thought that if I wanna have fun, then its in my hands. I wanted to make full use of the college life. I started attending symposiums and culturals. I cared less about attending classes. While my other classmates were busy banging their heads onto the voluminous Engg. books, I was busy attending Quizzes and Dumb Cs :-). . There was no fest without me.

 

Slowly, I started becoming a well known gal in my college though thats not I wanted.. But luckily, I was projected as an all rounder as I managed to scrape through all my univ exams with a decent score although I was not the topper :P. For me marks are just numbers. U live your life once and U need to enjoy it to the fullest.

 

Third year saw me becoming the Microsoft Student Partner, something which I never even dreamt of becoming and I also got placed in Infosys, which I was sure of ;-). I was more than happy in my life. Freaking out, having fun, last min study for exams.. A typical engg student..For me, enjoying mattered the most. I cared less for assignments and tests. I hated lectures.. I always hung with boys. I dint want to be a normal girl, sitting in groups and giggling away all time. Yuck!

 

Final year came and it promoted me to becoming an intern/influencer at Microsoft which was the most least thing I would ve expected in my life. I was all through my life an aimless gal taking life as it came. But now, am an influencer at Microsoft!!! I have now responsibilities to shoulder. Lots of them.

 

I look back at the time where I used to have pure fun at college.. Now, going to college has become a rarity. Last bench was my place. Now, when I go to college, my seat is occupied by someone else!! (WTF!!! Its my seat!!!).. But I am still having fun whenever I go to college ‘cos its only 3 months and after which I would be bidding adieu to my student life.

 

I really would miss all my classmates and fun that I had in my college :’(. Psssst.. I wont miss my staff! They tortured me with tests ;-)

Another of Vishnu’s questions :-)

KIDS!!!!!!! That one word turns me on… I love them hell a lot.. And this article is about one of the most hilarious incidents that happened wen my cousin Vishnu was visiting us..


It was a warm July night… Not to mention it was the vacation time in the middle east and the US! And of course not to forget that the academic calendar has just begun in India…

So.. That meant frolic for kids n students in US n Middle east n frustration for the kids n students in India..

Vishnu, my 7 year old cousin, landed in India on one warm July night…. I would say that he is a child prodigy with a budding talent of a great singer within him.. It also happened to be that time where my 17 yr old cousin from Dubai was also down here… So it was kinda family reunion after a long time…

Vishnu had this habit of being told a bedtime story every night… Vishnu always liked interactive stories where he liked to guess the upcoming part of the story…

So one night it was the turn of one of my uncle to tell him a story.. He finally decided to tell him a Akbar n Birbal story and to conclude how witty birbal was… So he started the story telling.. And since visnhu was a US bred kid, my uncle decided to tell the story in Tamil as everyone wanted VIshnus Tamil skills to improve…

“Ahem Ahem….”, my uncle cleared his throat. “Once there lived a mighty king called Akbar… He was a very famous and powerful king….”, continued my uncle (in Tamil of course..). “He had nine ministers in his court called Navratnas.. Among them Birbal was a pulavar..” Upon stumbling upon a word which was quite strong in tamil to Vishnu such as PULAVAR, he decided to explain wat it is to him.. He asked VIshnu, “Unshu baby, do you know wat a PULAVAR means??”.. Vishnu nodded his head in enthusiasm that he knew the word. He told “I know perippa”..

We were all surprised by the fact that Vishnu knew this word.. SO we wanted to hear from him the meaning.. So my uncle told “Good baby, tell me what does it mean”….

Vishnu sat up in the bed and was kinda so brimmed up with enthusiasm as he felt that he was the center of attention in explaining a word he knew.. He put on a serious face and started to explain. We all leaned forward expecting him to tell the exact meaning of the word…

But BINGO… we had a surprise…

Vishnu continued with his explanation ” U know perippa?? Wen we travel for loong distances like from LA to Fremont, and we get tired of driving and u need to stop somewhere on the roadside for eating and taking rest, thats called PULAVAR!!!”

We couldnt help laughing.. What he actually meant was a PULLOVER!! We had a nice laughter until our tummies hurt… Vishnu asked innocently” Oh!!! Was i wrong????”, on seeing our expressions…

My uncle immediately told him that he was not wrong and he was right and just that he changed languages.. And then explained him the meaning of PULAVAR which means poet/scholar.. Vishnu just grinned and thus continued the story telling for him..

Still we couldnt forget that incident where we kept laughing and discussing abt it during most of his stay!!!

The above incident is an example of how much kids observe these days and how they imply their observation…..